I wanted to know what the difference is between discarding a file and and stop tracking a file in git using source-tree. If I deleted a file in my updated code and I want that file deleted on the repository too should I mark it as stop tracking or should I discard it during the commit process
Best How To :
In SourceTree, selecting "discard" on a file just throws away your local changes; stop tracking removes it from the repository. However, as long as you have deleted the file on your local drive, and you can see that deletion in the "Staged Files" section of SourceTree, it will be deleted in the repository as well when you commit.