If I uninstall a managed CRM solution, what happens to the entity data? ... assuming the solution has a custom entity in it?
Similarly, if I install an updated managed solution, then revert by installing the original managed solution .. what happens to the actual data?
If I deploy an update of a solution to CRM Online, can I just uninstall it to revert all changes?
e.g. version 1.0 with a custom entity, with "First Name" and "Last Name" fields. Then I install version 1.1 with the addition of a "Department" field.
But there is an issue with version 1.1, so I reinstall version 1.0 ...
What would the data be?, i.e. just First Name" and "Last Name", or would "Department" still be there?
Best How To :
If I uninstall a managed CRM solution, what happens to the entity data? Assuming the solution has a custom entity in it?
-Any data stored in custom fields or entities removed by the uninstall will be lost.
Similarly, if I install an updated managed solution, then revert by installing the original solution .. what happens to the actual data?
-Solutions are additive and entities and fields are never removed by installing solutions. This means that you cannot "revert" back to a previous solution in the way you desire. There is no supported way to remove elements from a managed solution besides entirely removing the solution.
Solutions are additive ... does this apply to all the parts of a solution?, i.e. forms, views, reports, etc.
-They are additive in the sense that if you install a solution that does not have them they will not be removed from the target system. However if you install a solution with a newer (or older) version of a form/view/report the element will be updated to the newly installed version rather than duplicated. For example if in version 2 of a solution you have added a new field and added that field to a form and you install version 1 back over top it will remove the field from the form but not from the solution.